Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at school and at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that television can be an effective way for children to learn and therefore they should be encouraged to watch it regularly both at home and at school. Although television may offer some educational benefits, spending too much time watching it can have negative effects on children’s health. For these reasons, I strongly disagree with this notion.

On the one hand, learning through television is not an effective method for children, as it can lead to passive learning and various health problems. Firstly, when watching television students have little control over their concentration. As a result, they may be easily distracted, which makes it difficult for them to fully understand the lessons. This results in passive learning, which might reduce critical thinking and problem-solving skills. Secondly, students may spend too much time watching TV, which can lead to some health issues such as eye diseases and obesity. Screens have an effect that can damage the eyes, and it also limits physical activity. Lack of physical activity, caused by spending too much time watching television, can lead to obesity.

On the other hand, TV can be used as a useful educational tool for students. There are some subjects for which visual explanations and films make it easier to understand, such as history and science because to understand these subjects fully students have to read and remember some information it is also time-consuming instead of that films include wide range of information related to topics and make it easy to remember.

To conclude, although television has some educational advantages, its negative effects on children’s learning and health outweigh the benefits. Therefore, children should not be encouraged to watch it regularly.