Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at school and at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a suggestion for youngsters to be encouraged to watch TV frequently at school and at home with the aim of making the learning process effective. While this might improve concentration, I still believe this is a bad idea.

True, the involvement of children in watching TV can improve focus. When the educational system replaces social media with TV programs, they will not spend time watching short videos on platforms such as TikTok and Instagram, which increase the attention span. This improves brain capacity and enhances essential skills such as reading, writing and communication. A case in point is the Netherlands, where the local authority has invested money to improve educational TV programs and encouraged students to watch them. This gave rise to the number of students with high marks and now, the population became a leader in the list of countries with a very long attention span. Therefore, television can cause positive developments and improve essential skills.

Despite this reality, I remain convinced that TV can increase the numbers of young criminals. Once governments use television to teach youngsters, groups with their own objectives can influence this. Digital perpetrators might create their own channels to influence society, spread disinformation and propagate their views. As a direct consequence, children with partly developed information assessment skills cannot distinguish truth from lies, which gives rise to the numbers of young offenders. Caracas can perfectly exemplify this situation. Television filled with commercial channels that promote different political views caused children to become criminals and follow these views. If governments prevented this phenomenon, the country would be peaceful, which would reduce crime rates.

To conclude, even though promoting TV to educate people can improve focus, I stand firm in my position that it can increase the number of criminals made by children.