Children find it difficult to concentrate on or pay attention to school. What are the reasons ? How can we solve this problem?

It is an undeniable fact that attention and concentration at school are paramount in today’s contemporary world. However, there is a substantial decline in the presence of such attributes due to multiple reasons, such as social media, lethargic educators, and many more. In the paragraphs below, I would like to put forth my view with a valid opinion in the conclusion.

Foremost, an augmentation in the consumption of social media or any type of similar digital intake can be harmful to the neurotransmitters in the brains of children, which can make it difficult to process and sustain information. This is also backed by ongoing research conducted on children of this age. Moreover, another significant factor leading to this is parental disagreements. It is specifically observed in Asian countries where there are continuous arguments between parents, which indirectly affects the younger ones psychologically and can further lead to multiple syndromes. Furthermore, school authorities can be held equally responsible as their pedagogies are age-old and are not creative or exciting, which makes it uninteresting for curious-minded individuals to concentrate.

However, we seldom give a thought to ponder over the other side of the issue. There are multiple ways to address this problem. Firstly, ensuring that screen time or digital consumption is regulated by tutors or parents. This will limit the side-effects of the digital age on their budding minds. Additionally, both the mother and father should be conscious of their behavior in front of their children, so it does not put them under any distress. In addition to this, parents should also be practical and easily approachable so they can be the first point of contact under any emotional or physical turmoil happening with the young ones. Moreover, a different, unique, and creative approach to teaching should be inculcated to ensure that the content is not only interesting but can also be retained. For example, when I was in school, there were many Shakespeare plays, which were part of my English language curriculum, that were played in the form of videos on the smart screen, which was not just fun but easy to remember.

This seemingly inexorable debate about the decline in concentration levels of young people these days is never-ending. Nevertheless, showing deep reverence for all the aspects and observing the finer nuances of the matter mentioned above, I espouse the notion that in this fast-paced world, it is difficult to retain every piece of information we come across. However, school makes young minds world-ready; hence, extra efforts should be made by everyone, like the children, parents, and their teaching authorities, to ensure that the brain is developed and catered to. If there are any difficulties, they should be addressed, and interactive mind-stimulating sessions should be conducted to keep the logical mind working