Children should not have their own mobile phones or smart phones when they are in elementary school (before grade 6). Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that children who still study in primary school should not have their own smart phones. I completely agree with this opinion for the following two reasons.

First of all, having a mobile phone lessens the amount of time a child is exposed to the outer world. In other words, children should mainly spend time playing with other children, receiving love from parents and learning new things in order to develop their personality and grow in a healthy way. For example, if you see children who had their own cell phones since an early age, you will mostly notice that their behaviour is different compared to other children, getting aggresively angry when the phone is lagging is vivid example of this difference. Thus, I am strongly against buying phones for elementary school children because it heavily affects their childhood in a negative way.

Secondly, the internet is not a safe place for children. This means that the internet is not well-controlled which makes it a dangerous place for children, because they are vulnerable and can be indoctrinated or even persuaded to commit certain harmeful behaviours easily. For instance, numbers of child abusers are being arrested every day, those crimenals are taking advantage of the presence of children on the internet in order to achieve their malicious intents. For this reason, the presence of children on the internet should be prevented or at least limited and monitored.

In conclusion, I strongly stand against children having their own smart phones before grade 6, because these children should mainly spend time interacting with the outer world instead of browsing dangerous websites filled of malicious contents that could badly affect their development.