Children who start reading earlier in life, perform better later on in their school studies. How important are early reading skills in a child’s academic performance? What other preschool factors influence a child’s later academic achievements?

The increasing amount of time spent on reading has become more and more common among the young generation, which is believed by many to have a positive influence on their later academic achievements. From my perspective, this is positively affecting the youngsters as a whole and there are other useful activities that can be applied as a solution. On the one hand,this trend, as a matter of fact, is having beneficial influences on the overall development of children. First and foremost, due to the development of technology, they can attend any online lesson or any online reading article, regardless of geographical distance. Compared to the past, there were inadequate online websites and resources to read, but with the help of technology, they are able to enhance their creative and cognitive skills through reading. Secondly, owing to the rising number of students reading lectures at school, they are acquiring more knowledge than ever before. Books, such as fiction, science fiction, and novels, are considered the best way to improve knowledge related to not only tangible thoughts but also intangible ones as well.

On the other hand, despite the fact that spending more time on reading is a useful activity, there are other reliable factors that can benefit children in their later lives. The first viable factor is making new friends. That is why, with friends, a child can learn how to struggle with problems. Moreover, a child can learn how to work together in competitions as a team. Second of all, hard work, consistency, and making a strategic plan are considered valid factors that pay off in young people’s later lives. It is because every successful person opts for hard work and discipline to accomplish their goals. Furthermore, with a true plan, a child can mold his or her desires into it.

In conclusion, although free time is creating many positive effects, it can be transformed with other activities that have been mentioned above.