cities should prioritise parks rather than housing developments. to what extent do you agree?

Some people argue that cities should focus more on creating new parks or improving the existing ones, and should give less importance to residential areas. Even though housing developments is important, I agree that cities should prioritise green areas.

I honestly think that cities would be gray and dull if they were only made by buildings, parks are important for different reasons. Firstly, it is simply a better looking scenery compared to cement and bricks. Secondly, parks are a place where people can relax by sitting on benches or having a walk, it is also a spot for people to meet, to chat or have a picnic. Thirdly, a large number of trees is a great way to reduce pollution, a problem that is quite serious especially in bigger cities. Lastly, a green area could be a great way to attract tourists.

On the other hand, residential areas are an essential part of the city, and there is a way to implement vegetation in their development: when planning a new building, architects could create terraces where trees and shrubs can be planted, and residents could be paid if they water and take care of them. This could be a smart way to create healthier and sustainable living places. For example, an architect in Milan planned a skyscraper covered with local plant species, it is called “Vertical Wood” and it was successful because a lot of people wanted to rent an apartment there, and it also has become a tourist attraction.

In conclusion, I believe that cities need to implement more natural areas rather than building more house and apartments.