Colour is a powerful tool that is used to great effect by manufacturers and retail companies when they try to sell us something. In fact, many of the purchasing decisions we make are partly or largely influenced by colour. How true is this statement? How much does colour influence us when we buy something?

Today, colour is widely used by companies in order to attract a myriad of costumers as a marketing tool. There are some factors that as we grow up, it is true that we develop preferences for colour, and these are shown in the products we buy. Also, psychologically it impacts when we decide what to buy in terms of safety colours.

Interestingly, however, it is true that some of the people’s decisions are made based on their favourite colours. A major reason for this is that originally we tend to divide whether this colour is safe or not. A case in point is, rich red colour is associated with something that is poisonous or on the flip side, green is a natural and edible crop. Another reason is that clean colours impress us more in terms of how we feel ourselves, particularly in places such as hospitals or offices. To illustrate, hospitals are widely utilise white or beige to paint walls, so patients feel such a freshness. For instance, they use them to ensure instant visibility of stains for optimal hygiene and keep neutral environment.

Colour is arguable one of the earliest things that humanity learnt about, and early preferences are etched into our minds which is today based on what we buy in supermarkets, for example. Firstly, the attractiveness of products attract consumers, it could be a special design of packaging or vibrant colours, so that can catch their attention. For instance, people are used to imagine that fresh fruits or vegetables are vivid, so marketing companies can use some natural and eco-friendly additives, in order to make them more visibly fresh. Secondly, a particular design of supermarkets plays a crucial role in attracting people. As a result, people would make purchases in more advanced shops, rather than in poor and dark ones. These factors explain how marketing system belongs to investigating human’s psychology.

In conclusion, there is a direct link between colour and preferences, so this means that companies intentionally and properly use them.