Colour is a powerful tool that is used to great effect by manufacturers and retail companies when they try to sell us something. In fact, many of the purchasing decisions we make are partly or largely influenced by colour. How true is this statement? How much does colour influence us when we buy something?

It is often argued that colours have a powerful influence on our purchases. While some claim that this statement is true, I firmly believe that it is mainly wrong.

For instance, for me colour of things that I bought is rarely important. Last week I bought a new mascara with black packing. Definitely, I didn’t pay attention on the colour of it. In that case, I always evaluate the consistent before. Another argument is red “Ferrari” Jacket that I bought this weekend. I like this colour, but its unique design and brand more affected on this purchase. One more of my recent buy was pink parfume. It is inevitable that I have done this purchase only because of its smell. Moreover, I really do not like this colour, but it did not influence on my decision.

Another compelling argument is that I absolutely do not care about colours in supermarkets. Only tasty smells of food can affect on my purchases. Furthermore, I have never felt more hungry in restaurants due to, for example, template red tones. Only whole pleasant design can arouse a desire to go there. One more argument is that I do not pay attention on colours in sports shops. I only care about things that I need to buy, additionally, theirs traditional bright design may be annoying for me.

Having said that, however, colours can be really useful in the marketing. Bright posters attract much more attention to company’s products. Moreover, good design with the suitable tones of the offices, restaurants and other spaces inspires more trust to clients.

In conclusion, I guess that this statement is mainly not true. Colours do not influence on the desire to buy something, but they can make to pay more attention on the product and feel more trust in a manufacturer.