Companies spend millions on advertising and consumer purchases. Positive and negative affects

In the modern era, a faction of companies all over the world undeniably spends high sums of money on advertising, such as in high-end magazines like Vogue and on billboards. Many people, fascinated by these advertisements, actually end up buying products that are neither adequate nor necessary.

This essay aims to delve into the positive and negative aspects of this trend.

On the one hand, the influence of advertisements is rapidly increasing among customers, which helps boost the economy. When consumers get to know about new products and services, they tend to purchase them. Additionally, the creative side of product development has to advance; hence, it creates a large number of job opportunities. When consumers expect out-of-the-box ideas and creativity in products, the producers are willing to hire more talented people to explore various ways to improve their items and satisfy customer needs.

However, there are several negative impacts on human lives because of this influence. Mainly, it cultivates the trend of a ‘use and throw’ culture, which harms the environment. Moreover, advertisements develop discontentment in humans, as they always wish for other things. For instance, if a person has an iPhone 16, the iPhone 17 advertisement is very appealing and prompts him to buy the latest phone even though the old one works perfectly. Hence, this leads to more debt and mental pressure. Many individuals buy most of the things they do not actually require. Furthermore, now find happiness in materials, which leads to over-consumption and a waste of resources.

In conclusion, although advertisement and purchasing enable better lifestyles, boost the economy, and create job opportunities, they also contribute to environmental issues, unnecessary spending, and debt, which can lead to depression. Therefore, it is important to control purchases and find the difference between needs and wants.