Competition for university study is becoming increasingly strong. Why are universities becoming more competitive? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that competition for higher education is becoming more and more competitive nowadays. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon, and then discuss whether it is a positive or a negative development.

There are a number of factors responsible for the competitiveness of getting into college related to the growing population and accessibility to knowledge. Concerning the former, more people means more applicants, while the number of available places at universities often remains limited, which is the reason for this high competitiveness. Additionally, knowledge can be accessed more easily compared to the past, resulting in the trend of great achievements at schools and in other tests such as IELTS or SAT as well. The number of students who get high scores in these tests is increasing rapidly, even to the point that some may call it “grade inflation.” Over time, competition for higher education is becoming more challenging.

In my opinion, this trend can carry both positive and negative implications. Concerning the positive sides, universities are initially aimed for higher education and specialized knowledge, which will require a certain ability and talent in academic learning capability. If anyone could enroll in college, yet they do not have enough ability to learn, they will probably waste their three to four years of life without gaining any meaningful knowledge. In this sense, competitive admissions serve as a useful and practical filtering mechanism. However, this phenomenon also has its negative side which is it will cause some mental problems such as stress, and even depression for students. With rising pressure to succeed in exams and secure a place at a top university, many students experience burnout. This trend, therefore, will lead to psychological issues in high schoolers.

In conclusion, many reasons can be given to explain the increasing difficulty in accessing to universities. While this phenomenon can give rise to certain issues, it can also bring about some beneficial effects.