Competition for university study is becoming increasingly strong. Why are universities becoming more competitive? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, there is an overwhelming rising number of individuals who compete to get into universities. In my opinion, there could be several reasons why this situation is happening and both positive and negative effects could be seen in this trend.

The development of tough competition for higher education can be explained in several ways. One of the most notable reasons is that people desire to have a university degree from prestigious institutions to be accepted by many companies. That is to say, this type of qualification displays a student’s specialized knowledge and professional training, therefore, reliability to employers and recruiters is higher based on the degree they are shown. As a result, this will increase the possibility of landing a well-paid and stable job for the graduates. Another motivation derives from the fact that students will have an opportunity to develop themselves in many aspects. In other words, the students are given the chance to work in groups and do presentations during the college time. Gradually, their communication, presentation, teamwork, and many other essential skills may be sharpened. This is of great importance when students join in the labor market and work for corporations.

In my view, the development described above can bring some benefits as well as negative outcomes. First and foremost, the competition to attend university can establish beneficial studying habits and self-discipline. To be more specific, competition to enter a reputable university is intense because there are many competent candidates applying and spots are limited. Thus, students have to burn the midnight oil if they do not want to fail; consequently; a good habit of studying and determination wil be formed to achieve any goals. Another view of mine is that this trend can also result in stress and anxiety. To clarify my point of view, students have to bury themselves in homework and exams to the point that they have little time for relaxation. Accordingly, their mental health will suffer and exhaustion may occur, which is inclined to cause intangible pressure to have to endure.

In conclusion, several reasons could be mentioned regarding why the chances to learn at university become more and more competitive. Therefore, it seems to me that this situation can be both beneficial and harmful for the learners.