Computer are being used more and more in education. Some people say this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The usage of computers in the classroom is growing. While some claim this tendency is beneficial, others contend it has unfavorable effects. The usage of technology like laptops, tablets, computers, and smartphones has increased significantly in recent years. Some individuals believe that these things show bad trends, and others argue that they are a positive development. In this essay, I will explain both perspectives and present my opinion.

Keeping an eye on the bright side, computers are convenient for both teachers and students in academic ways. For instance, during the Covid-19 pandemic, many tertiary institutions across the globe adapted to online teaching, which allowed students to use their own electronic gadgets to attend lessons and complete their academic year. Furthermore, there are several benefits to using electronic gadgets nowadays. Firstly, students and lecturers can research different topics on the internet quickly. Secondly, lectures on a big screen provide more clarity to understand the lecture. Third, studying online can be environmentally friendly because schools do not need paper. Moreover, more than 90% of people have their own computer.

On the other hand, there are several disadvantages to using computers. If students regularly use computers, they may lack critical thinking. Also, it might be difficult for students to concentrate on their lessons. Further, children using the internet browsers on computers might distract them from their focus. Moreover, long screen time might cause several diseases like weak eyesight, weakening of the body because of not getting good quality sleep, and obesity. Additionally, children might browse the internet and watch content unsuitable for their age. This could lead to an increase in the chances of criminal activities and unusual behaviors such as cyberbullying, etc.

In conclusion, the drawbacks of using computers in teaching can be countered through proper guidance and monitoring, and this technology can bring greater benefits to young people. A suggestion would be that schools use computers to enhance students’ learning but have measures in place to limit screen time and underage content.