Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Advertising has become an increasingly pervasive and, arguably, compelling presence in the modern world. In my opinion, marketing greatly influences the average consumer and there should strict regulations in place to ensure it does not become overly invasive and manipulative.

Shoppers are persuaded by advertising because it exploits vulnerabilities in human psychology. For decades, advertising agencies have been researching and refining their approaches. Over this time, key tenets have been established that maximize the money spent on marketing. These principles include the so-called “fear of missing out,” social proofing, and various ways of raising brand awareness. For instance, many companies will offer limited-time deals such as the famous “Black Friday” sales in the United States. The best evidence of the effectiveness of these techniques is that corporations continue to employ them and advertising is the single wealthiest industry in the world.

In order to guarantee advertising does not pose a threat to society at large, it should be strictly regulated by the state. A standout example of this relates to health. Companies that manufacture products that are naturally addictive to humans, such as junk foods high in sugar, fat, and carbohydrates, often aim their advertisements at the most vulnerable segments of society including children and obese individuals. Governments can play a key role at this stage by legislating that certain audience segments cannot be targeted. This would likely include preventing companies from accessing private information about online users and from directing their marketing budget towards locations near schools and playgrounds.

In conclusion, advertising is an effective practice and must be stringently regulated by the federal government. These laws will only become more essential in the future as marketing becomes more sophisticated.