The best way to help underachieving pupils is to have compulsory after-school activities which they must attend. This way they will become more involved in school and their grades will improve. To what extent do you agree?

Compulsory after school lessons may improve pupils’ grades and involve them in school life. While some people argue that it may be a good opportunity for children, I partly agree with this view, as the core preferences and choises serve as an additional motivation for their studies.

One key reason is that underachieving students have need to be directed during school period due to they may not have exact understanding why they should attend the lessons and gain knowledge acquired in a classroom. Therefore, as teachers serve as the initial navigators, children should have compulsory where internalized attributes, such as integrity and interest in exact subject, may be forged. For example, if student attends the biology extralessons, he may develop an interest in medicine, which will lead to improvements in academic performance.

However, this view overlooks the fact that students may have no interest at all in subject where they have unsatisfied grades. Students in their youth and they also need time for their hobbies that they do with a big interest and progress, while academic performance limps. It means that extra curricula will be waste of time, because heavy load after school day will serve as an interruption that will lead to futility in the future. For instance, the student who has already been interested in medicine will be interrupted from his aspiration due to forced study of literature after school day.

In conclusion, while compulsory is good approach for school system, it is a failure for students who have already determined an individual’s trajectory for their future success.