Contemplate two distinct situations—one where you experienced success and another where you faced failure. Delve into the personal & interpersonal lessons you learned from these instances

Success is defined as meeting the range of expectations but it also depends on the hurdles, which makes it more difficult to accomplish the desired output.

I had different aims professionally and personally. My personal goals are meant to impact my professional life, so both are oriented toward a common goal. I will deem my receiving a new job role with a promotion within 1 year of professional experience as an achievement. It’s more than this. I was preparing for the Civil Service examination and had already attempted, had learned pretty much all things available on board, and had no challenges professionally. In addition, I was more oriented toward impact creation and wanted to be near business divisions. All I could feel that my potential was getting wasted as I had risk-taking courage and often challenged conventional norms that were being suppressed. Personal failure and disillusionment had impacted me. Then I came across a Product Designer Engineer role, at the senior level, which compelled me to change my city again and after clearing interviews without any domain specialization, I received positive feedback acknowledging my strengths. Despite personal failures, I dared to take risks professionally along with changing surroundings and new challenges. The success was more than a professional achievement. It taught me perseverance, calmness, adaptability, and decision making which further helped me to

enhance my perception.

Failures contribute more to developing a person, depending on what aspects and attitudes one has. I have faced continuous disappointment with my journeys. UPSC and IIFT contributed to my disillusionment. When I started as a software engineer, I was aware that this was not going to work for me. Parallelly I had appeared for UPSC in college and was thrown to vast knowledge and disciplines. The preparation for UPSC gave me leverage to be aware of different domains of the world and be more aware of self-interests. It took me 1 year to figure out and realize what excites me, and where I can and

want to add value. I was more inclined toward public policy, international economics, and administration. Studying philosophy allowed me to develop varying perceptions and link multiple disciplines. My analysis skills and dedication contributed to making me more determined and agile in every aspect. Our culture has brainwashed us, I denied doing all sorts of “busy” or ineffective work outside my expertise and passion, and I developed an approach of “who” rather than “how”. I understood human tends to collaborate and that collaboration can do wonders.

I am proud of having multiple failures and successes. I want to be a generous giver who is truly committed to service and growth, not status. My past has served the important information and learning, allowing me to approach life and my future differently.