Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are strengths and weaknesses involved when it comes to global trading getting closer and being more similar.

From the positive perspectives, people around the world can enjoy products or things which are originally far away from them. Take Japanese food, people might need to buy airplane tickets to fly to Japan just for yummy fried pork steaks before, however, after more and more Japanese chained restaurants opening in Taiwan and other cities in the world, the customers just enjoy gulping in their own countries without flying to Japan. Under the circumstance, either the restaurants or the customers get what they want respectively, which the former manages to produce a great fortune while the latter saves the time of taking trips. The both sides create a win-win situation.

However, when there are more and more chained brands spreading around the world and providing people lots of convenience, there’s a concern to be worried about, which is lacking being unique and creative in the products. Take Starbucks, initially, the customers are surprisingly happy with the standardized coffee, always drinking the same taste and enjoying the same quality wherever they go. As time goes by, human beings are human beings rather than robots, which deep inside of them sometimes want to try something exceptional or even just a little bit different from usual stuffs. In the end, people start to look for something fresh and unique, explaining why more and more private coffee shops or independent coffee brands in the consumers’ market.

In summaries, just as an old Chinese saying ‘Being in moderation in everything.’, which is just like a sword with two edges, being similar and unique in the meantime is the best policy in business world.