Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Due to a phenomenon called globalization, countries are becoming more and more similar every day. Owing to the fact that citizens all around the world have access to the same products. Some people think this is a good developement because we can have more in common with foreigners and some brands are significant benefit from this. However it is my belief that globalization cause more negative than positive impact to our society.

First of all, we have to face the lost of culture and differences of each country. Let me explain, if everyone in the world could buy the exact same things, everything around us would look similar (our houses, schools, our clothes), which would make our world boring. Personally, I love the rich culture my country has and I really enjoy showing it to people who lives abroad, however I also love traveling and knowing other cultures, because I find beautiful all the differences.

Another point to consider is that because of the demand of foreign products, these companies need more and more stores in our country. The consecuences are the movement of local businesses and the significant rise of prices. For example, my dad told me that years ago he used to buy local coffee at downtown, but now all he can find is Starbucks coffee, which is more expensive.

Therefore my opinion is that it is important to try to consume local products and fomment our culture in order to enjoy and share our differences all around the world.