Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the advancement of technologies, it is doubtless that within a near future, space traveling will be feasible to earthling. The surge of such predictions has sparked a debate on whether this is a well-intended enhancement or not since this development embraces both the pros and cons. By all means, I assert that this development will result in a positive output.

Throughout history, with the extension of technologies along with the onset of the industrial revolution and the subsequent technological era, we have witnessed a peak development in a myriad of industries. Unfortunately, the advancement in technologies also coincides with an increased exacerbation of geological degradation, and this is no exception with space traveling. The projection of a spaceship will emit a bulk of greenhouse gases, causing pollution, which subsequently damages the environment. Additionally, the creation of a spacecraft may cost a leg and the infrastructure used in the process of making it often earns the moniker “white elephant” since most of the shelters outside a spacecraft will eventually be disentangled from the ship and become debris in space. Consequently, the dominance of human on other planets will bring our environmentally destructive behaviors to those planets. This is not to mention that there is only a minority of people have access to such high-end traveling. As a result, this will lead to social segregation and animus among people.

On the flip side, despite its costly price, the establishment of space tourism will contribute a lot to the economic expansion, boosting the world’s economy and intertwining it with other interdisciplinary industries. For instance, over the past centuries, space industry has made major contributions to science; the launching of the voyager 2 has brought about significant information and data for scientists. However, the voyager 2 itself has its limit and does not provide a clear-cut and vivid images of the universe. Thus, space traveling may take the lead in giving human the opportunity to outreach the universe, and, at the same time, bring the collected data and images into education, bolstering educations for further generations. Eventually, the value of space traveling does not only lie in interdisciplinary benefits but also the experiences it renders. This will be the once-in-a-lifetime and brand-new experience for human to explore hidden corners of the universe, while, in the meantime, find a second home for human to rehabilitate.

Needless to say, the drawbacks of this new kind of tourism are inevitable. However, we can reverse the predicament by proposing predictions of potential risks, and address them by delivering a multifaceted and concerted approach. This needs the effort of the authorities and experts in multiple disciplines. For example, we can address the environmental impact by using alternative resources such as electricity or hybrid spacecraft, or ensure human safety by introducing robotic and Al devices to navigate and track the route, such as the two fictional robots in Interstellar movie: TARS and CASE.

In overall, space travel consists of both the advantages and shortcomings, and it rests on how we approach and address the predicted issues that determine its possibility. Besides the drawbacks, we can foresee an all-pervasive growth in many fields when successfully bringing space travel into use. Eventually, I still maintain that this will be a positive development, giving human an innovative way to find their zest and equip future generations with astronomical knowledges on the road of achieving the universe.