countries are becoming more and more similar,becouse people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world

Nowadays, the cutting-edge technology has become a double-edged sword. Although it made the world a smaller place and added many advancements in different fields and aspects but it caused many drawbacks such as, making the whole world identical, and it also increased the consumerism. I strongly agree that countries became similar due to the same followed pattern of lifestyle, even among people with different societal levels and multifaceted cultures.

To begin with, consumerism became a striking trend due to the technological advancement; it shifted the people needs from extra needs to necessities. A prime example is Egypt, it is a developing country that is suffering from an economic recession, unemployment. However, the vast majority of the youths are using the latest version of several technological gadgets such as, i-phone with its different versions, Mac book and many other over-budget devices. Likewise, the developed countries as, the United Kingdom, the United States. Their young adults, adolescents use many advanced devices; which made developed and developing countries almost equal in consumerism without taking into account the economic considerations, salaries, and basic needs.

On the other hand, a great deal of advocates believes that there is a huge difference between the countries; as the comparison should not be based on only on the impulse purchases, but also, on academic and professional development. A prime example is Holland, in which many adolescents work as part-timers and freelancers since they become in high school. In contrast, developing countries such as, Egypt, most of the younger generations solely depend on their families for providing a better quality of life, which shows the difference between those countries.

In conclusion, I reiterate my opinion that high consumerism is a negative development and it promotes the feeling of dissatisfaction for many individuals. It also raises the reliance on the guardians. Purchasing un necessary products also deprives the upcoming generations from determining their priorities.