Countries should produce the food that their population eat, and import as little as possible. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to your answer

Nowadays, importing and exporting goods have become a common practice among countries. Some people believe nations should grow the food that their citizens consume, and import in small quantities. I completely agree with this idea and in this essay, I will support my opinions with examples.

First off, limiting the import of goods from other countries can help the country’s development. If the government starts encouraging their farmers to grow crops in their own country, that would help in cutting import expenses and use that money in other departments for the wellness of the citizens. For instance, many countries lack in their defense system, and investing money in defense instead of spending it on importing goods can be a great help for national security.

Another reason I support countries producing their food is because it helps them boost their economy. These countries can make money by exporting the excess food left after providing it to their citizens. For example, according to a Historical report from Yellow Magazine, India was dependent on China for rice, but in the year 1947 India started growing rice, and today India is the number one exporter of rice to all Western and European countries.

on the other hand, some people think many countries cannot grow all types of crops due to different climatic and soil conditions. So, importing food can provide a variety of foods to citizens. For example, Banana is the most consumed fruit in Canada and they cannot be grown all year in Canada due to its cold weather conditions. So, they depend on the import of bananas from other countries to provide them to their citizens.

In conclusion, this essay argues why countries should grow their crops, and buy from other countries as less as possible. In my opinion, I strongly agree that producing food can facilitate in country’s development and boost the economy.