Countries should produce the food that their population eat, and import as little as possible. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to your answer

In this fast-paced life, countries play a significant role to manage the food products. It is proposed by some that nations should focus on producing the food which eaten by their citizens and producing the importation. Although this measure can deduce the dependency on other regions for particular food, I disagree with this statement to a great extent as it can disrupt nation’s economy and land.

Commencing with some reasons to agree, the prominent one is that it provides independency. To explain it, some nations and their citizens import vegetables and fruits from other nations. If countries begin to produce these food in their regions, then there is a probability of fulfilling the requirement of individuals. Additionally, minimizing the exportation also helps to keep storage of such foods for a longer time, reducing the chance of food crises in countries. Therefore, it would be great initiative by countries to become independent and prevent food shortage.

On the other hand, there are many reasons to disagree. The first and foremost is the negative impact on nation’s economy due to this measure. Most of the countries rely on export businesses of food items which contributes their economies aid in their development. For instance, in India, 32% of income were obtained from exporting meat, maize and so on, to foreign countries. As a consequence, it not only helps to develop economically but also improve social networks among other nations. Hence, to maintain a stable economy, exportation is needed.

Another noteworthy aspect is that it has a detrimental effect on the land. In other words, there is a difference in soil, weather and land conditions in every country. So, it would be challenging for them to produce food which requires certain environment to grow. As a result, it will cause much more hurdles than benefits.

To recapitulate, I disagree with the notion of producing widely eaten food by the country for their population and reducing the importation because of its negative impact on country’s economy and land.