Countries should spend money on trains rather than new roads. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that states should expend more money on trains as a substitute for new roads. This essay agrees with this statement because trains are more environmentally friendly and safer than road transport.

First, trains are environmentally better than road vehicles. As trains can carry a large number of passengers and goods at a time, it reduces the number of cars that are used to convey the people to their destination. Thus, it diminishes carbon emissions. On the other hand, road transport can’t carry more commuters and most private cars on the roads take only one person in. A huge number of cars is required to get everyone to their destinations and an immense amount of pollution occurs. So, if any government thinks of the environment, they will invest more in trains. For instance, many European countries are now investing more in developing railways instead of new roads.

Another reason is the safety that trains offer. Railways offer a safer commuting experience for citizens and efficient transportation for trade facilities. The number of road accidents and highway casualties in many countries is far higher than that of railway accidents. Trains are more spacious than private cars or other cars and safe for all ages. Trains are regulated by control rooms and always maintain some safety rules. Recent research on accidental deaths in Bangladesh found that every year around 60% of accidental deaths take place on the roads, while only 5% of unexpected deaths occur in railway sectors.

In conclusion, Governments should focus more on enhancing railway services because it is better in terms of ecological benefits and more secure than the automobiles that run on the roads. So, considering these advantages of trains, nations should invest more in trains than in new roads.