Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, several debates about work patterns have been discussed. On the one hand, some citizens claim that a long average working time has more advantages than disadvantages, while others are against this point of view. I am totally convinced that working enormous periods of time are associated with unfavorable consequences. In this essay, psychological and sociological arguments to defend my personal opinion will be presented. Secondly, examples will be provided and a suitable conclusion will be highlighted.

We live in a hyper-workaholic period in which citizens tend to spend long periods of time in their works. According to several statistics, even though artificial intelligence have been developed machines to support workers, work patterns have not showed downward tendencies in terms of time duration and problems associated are still occurring. Indeed, evidence-base research has shown how this social dilemma is associated with higher levels of stress, sleep problems and other mental diseases. Therefore, although citizens may have higher incomes, they are not experiencing larger levels of life satisfaction. Consequently, some policy makers have thought public policies to limite work patterns, since there is no sense to spend long hours working if citizens are not satisfied with their lives.

On the other hand, people with a long average working time have been associated with unfavorable consequences to their families and childhood. In fact, science-based investigations have demonstrated how youngers are not learning civic values because their parents are usually working and they are not available to teach moral values to their sons. For some experts, this fact has a horrible social impact in society, because children who are not educated at home by their household, are more probable to participate in criminal activies, such as drug traffic and robbery. Thus, social scientists argue that although nations may show a large economic success as a result of long work patterns, in the future this issue will carry out unfavorable consequences, and negatives will outwheigh positives.

Regarding the previous information, for instance in countries such as Chile or Argentina, some professors have advocated to introduce policies and laws to tackle this concern, generating incentives for parents to stay longer periods at home with their families. Although there are not clear conclusions about this possible policy, many experts are optimists.

In conclusion, even though countries with a long average working time may be more economically successful, the negative results associated should be a social concern. Indeed, this social dilemma should a priority for goverments, including psychological and social wellbeing as a essential factor for policy making.