Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, the majority of successful countries are characterised by long working hours. While some people argue that a system of long working hours brings only benefits, I firmly believe that it involves negative consequences.

To begin with, work has always been an integral part of people’s lives due to increasing needs, working hours have increased. People invest their whole time, leaving no time for anything except work, and it would have detrimental consequences. First and foremost, problems with health due to pressure and workload since by such load conditions, people forget to take care of wellbeing. For example, in Japan, the phenomenon “karoshi” (death from overwork) shows how negatively long working hours affect people’s health.

Moreover, overwork causes a range of multiple problems, and among them family problems. The majority of people suffer from the absence of children, destroying their families, at the same time they spend half of their time at work. For instance, employees often spend less time with their families, which weakens family relationships and affects children’s upbringing. Finally, it is demographic crisis caused by low birth rate. In modern states, such as Japan and South Korea, this problem is becoming increasingly serious, while simultaneously young people delay marriage and parenthood due to demanding work schedules.

Admittedly, long working hours have some benefits. A constant employment brings financial stability, as a result, condition for further growth is secured. Some people also believe it trains the discipline and self confidence, which are very necessary. However, i believe that several advantages cannot compare with the whole problems.

In conclusion, the best and wise approach is to keep moderation, like relaxing and working simultaneously. People aren’t robots, thus they deserve to relax in order to be healthy.