Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that countries where people work longer hours tend to achieve greater economic success. While there is some truth in this view, I strongly believe that extended working hours can also lead to serious social consequences, which may outweigh economic gains.

On the one hand, longer working hours can boos productivity and economic output. When employees dedicate more time to their jobs, companies often generate higher profits, which in turn contribute to national economic growth. For instance, having more time in working space, it giving us productivity, and letting us to explore more factors about our sphere, and recognize possible variations of elections. In addition, this can subsequently increase our revenue; most importantly, it allows us to contribute to our nation, which may ultimately provide a sense of pride.

On the downside, excessive working hours can have detrimental social effects. It may lead to stress after failures, or chronic sleep deprivation negatively affects cognitive performances. For example, it scientifically claimed that lack of sleep may exacerbate heath well-being. Additionally, they may risk losing meaningful connections with their families, and it is not guaranteed that persistence will repay their hard work. Meanwhile, in occupations that require employees to work in front of a monitor, workers have a higher risk of damaging their eyesight.

In conclusion, extending working hours may bring certain benefits to society, as employees may invent or discover new solutions for existing problems. However, I firmly believe that the negative consequences outweigh the advantages, as excessive working hours may lead to the loss of valuable social connections and negatively affect people’s health.