Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many cities that have a longer average working time will result in a better financial system, but they would have more risks from societies. Although there are some advantages, I believe the drawbacks do outweigh the benefits.

Many locations may subscribe to the fact that more laboring time would the development of their company would bring them and their employees enormous advantages. For example, if a person works more, they will have more money and live a greater life, which could make more profit for industries. Not only that, workers could tend to feel more appreciated by their bosses or employers such as the CEO of the industry.This could stimulate them with more motivation to work harder and longer. The result is that it will benefit both companies and workers.

Despite the advantages mentioned above, I believe that this is a negative approach for several reasons and could suffer from social consequences. Firstly, employees may have many benefits, but it will take a heavy toll on their mental health. Countries with a long average working time means that workers need to do more jobs and be more responsible, this could cause stress and anxiety, which later on can do their mental health a disservice. Another reason is the effects, which it can have on physical health. It is clear that mental health has a crucial role to play in a person’s physical health. For example, If employees work more hours a day than an average person, this could drain their mind, make them feel tired and do harm to health. Thus, they would be more lazy and not have enough time to enjoy themself. They will not cook or do exercises, but instead eat out more and be a couch potato. Therefore their physical health will fall behind and they may not be as efficient as they used to be at work.

In conclusion, while I recognise the financial advantages that cities with long average working time will have, I consider it to be an overall negative for the social consequences that it could bring.