Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that countries with high average working hours experience greater economic prosperity; however, this may also lead to detrimental effects in the form of negative social repercussions. This essay is firmly convinced of this opinion, as excessive working hours reduce the time to spend socializing with people around and grow individualistic traits among people.

Work is undeniably essential activity through which individuals earn a living, and people all around the world dedicate most of their time to it. However, the more time one spends working, the less time is available to connect with family, neighbors, or simply people one encounters every day. Furthermore, working excessively diminishes a person’s empathy towards their surroundings since all of their attention becomes focused solely on finishing their work. For example, many cases of child abduction have occurred in broad daylight on busy streets where many people casually walked and did not care at all about their surroundings, focusing only on reaching their work destination punctually or meeting their work targets. All of them were preoccupied with their phones, and when they glanced at the abduction, they just looked and brushed it away as if it were not their responsibility to pursue the kidnapper. This lack of response is very concerning because when there is a wrongdoing happens, people must act and prevent it; it is not solely the responsibility of government instances.

In conclusion, this essay completely agrees that there are adverse social consequences when people put too much time into their work, leading the development apathetic traits.