Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing and controversial attitude present in notions in which workers and employees who spend an enormous amount of time at the workplace are more successful in the economic sector. However, the opposite point of view represents that this approach cannot justify the amount of devastating impact it has on various sectors. In this essay, I am going to evaluate both sides to reach a more suitable and decent viewpoint.

On the one hand, if the priority of a society is success in the economy, that society has to enlarge its workload and working time to reach its goals. Moreover, it can be seen that in this type of country, policymakers and governments have a huge tendency to invest more and more in industries to make bigger firms and companies enhance their workers. Furthermore, as a result of these developments, it is desirable to leverage working time to boost production and services to address the requirements of people. Additionally, due to these levels of improvements and advancements, we have witnessed that industrial and ecological sectors are considerably fostered. Therefore, not only are creativity and productivity significantly magnificent, but also massive facilities and infrastructures are easily accessible. For instance, in a country that has a great economy, citizens have access to better insurance, or in this kind of region, public transportation is more desirable and useful due to various investments.

On the other hand, opponents argue that these ecological improvements and advancements are coupled with some negative sides and knock-on effects. Furthermore, this approach either has a direct effect on workers’ performance, such as a reduction in creativity and productivity, or this overtime work leads to body and health problems as a result of a lack of rest and working pressure. Thus, this phenomenon cannot live up to the expectations of this group.

In conclusion, needless to say, nowadays, despite being extremely important and vital for individuals to live in high-grade conditions, it is vital that material life is not everything and that other aspects like health are important as well. Besides, a balanced approach should be considered to accommodate all aspects of life.