Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that countires with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences.

On the one hand, longer working hours increase productivity and economic growth. This means if people work harder than others in foreign countries, companies will significantly benefit more from their staff as they gain more money. Moreover, workers may earn more, leading to improved lifestyle, spending cash and consuming more food. Gaining more salary makes people spend more money on their needs and investing in their projects. But they also tend to suffer from negative consequences. For example if person spends one third of their time sleeping and half of the day working they will not spend their time with family and these actions will weaken the family bondings. Additionally, they will have less time for personal development so this can lead to health problems like stress, burnout and others.

On the other hand, longer hours does not always mean higher efficiency rate. If workers work a long time they could make some mistakes as they will be tired. Therefore, companies should give more holidays to their employees to make sure they will have leisure time for relaxing from their job and stregthening bondings with relatives or acquaintances. In addition, there are some countries with shorter working hours that are surpassing other nationalities and achieving higher productivity. For instance, Scandinavian nations tend to labour less comparing to some countries with lower productivity and higher working hours.

In conclusion, spending time at job increases economic success but with negative sides, while i agree that long shifts does not always signify more efficiency.