Creative artists should always be given freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree on this IELTS topic?

There has been an opinion that artists should be allowed the freedom of expression in their own works with words, pictures, music or film with no government restrictions. I do not agree with this opinion and this essay will explain the reasons for my stance.

Firstly, freedom of full expression can be dangerous in our currently globalised world. With social media having the ability to spread to millions across the globe, an idea, no matter how sinister, can influence people across nations. If there is no control over what is being said, who is to stop bad ideology from spreading across the world, and even worse, influencing the younger generation. For example, there were several teenagers who were influenced online to join terrorist group ISIS. If artists with strong ideology are given full freedom of speech and expression, it can create the potential for harm.

Secondly, if creative artists are given the freedom of expression, who is to stop the rest of the population from expecting the same. The lines between right and wrong become blurred, which makes for a messier and less structured society. The younger generation will have a harder time perceiving restrictions and rules, as they may misinterpret creative direction as a society norm. For example, creative artists may litter or vandalise as part of their art, given there will be no consequences on doing so. If government restrictions do not impose the necessary fines on said artists, vandalising may no longer be viewed as wrong, and what is therefore stopping anyone from committing the same act.

That being said, creative freedom for artists can indeed provide a larger avenue for them to grow and express themselves. If government restrictions are constantly in place, this can stifle artists which may reduce the general creativity of the population. Creative freedom may also spread a positive influence, as opposed to a negative one, if given the allowance to do so. However, these advantages to full creative freedom do not outweigh the negatives.

In conclusion, creative freedom to artists can be dangerous as it increases the possibility of harmful influence across the globe, as well as fade the definition between right and wrong in society. Even though, full expression of artists can allow for positive messages as well as the encouragement of creativity, the potential consequences that can occur with a lack of government restrictions is too substantial to risk and government restrictions have to stay in place to avoid detriment changes to society.