Creative artists should always be given freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree on this IELTS topic?

Many hold the belief that Council restrictions must not be applicable to the ideas of artists and in their productions. I firmly disagree with this viewpoint because their works are publicly available and create a huge impact on the general public, and may not be suitable for the younger generation, also possessing a threat to other people’s images.

Publicly available works such as movies, novels, and songs by high-profile individuals play a crucial role in influencing individuals’ mindsets. For instance, several movies on underrated leaders promote their sacrifices in the name of their country, which were previously not known to the people of the nation; ideas like this create a positive impact on human thoughts. While nowadays, artists are largely focused on projects which may not add significant value to people’s lives and are offensive in some cases, making them non-suitable for the younger generation.

On the other hand, personality threats have been an increasing issue among celebrities. Often, such people are seen using inappropriate language for others to gain social attention or so-called “fame”. Social media has become a major platform for such incidents, where influencers with millions of followers have been seen criticizing the government for certain actions. Although such content was reportedly removed after a period, it created a significant impact on their followers.

In conclusion, the ideals of every individual must be promoted through meaningful ways.

I believe certain guidelines and a regulatory framework must be invaded before making any such ideas for public consumption, so as to preserve the dignity of the young population and control personality threats.