Crime rates will fall as advances in technology and help to detect and prevent crime. To what extend do you agree or disagree

Advances in technology have made a large contribution to the detection and prevention of crime. While some feel that with increasing technology, the rates of crime will fall with enhanced technology and data analysis, others feel that technology can also be misused by criminals to commit crimes. But, I partially agree that advancement in technolgy can have either advantages or disadvantages and is discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs.

To begin with, crime rates can go down if the surveillance and cybersecurity technologies improve. High-definition CCTV cameras, facial recognition, and artificial intelligence-based monitoring helps police officers in identifying criminals activity with more concentration. Police depends on data analysis to prevent crimes from happening where forensic science and DNA analysis have transformed investigations as it makes easier to solve crimes. Additionally, AI-based and encryption security systems identifies suspicious events in real-time. For instance, it prevent cyber crimes such as identity theft with aadhar card, financial fraud, and hacking.

Nevertheless, technology also leads to severe cybercrimes. Hackers use loopholes in the system to do fraud, cyberbullying, and cyber terrorism. The fact is that the internet makes it easy for criminals to access the world over a small computer, and the police find it difficult to track them. Artificial intelligence and deepfake technology are misused in fraud, which makes it hard to detect crimes . The dependence on technology raises ethical issues like privacy infringement and mass surveillance. For example, nowadays in search of crack version of some premium charging app like Spotify, the hacker would introduce its own version to access the users data as people blindly trust the app policy and give their personal information like upi id and access to gallery.

To conclude, with introduction to advance technologies like facial recognition and artificial intelligence, the crime rate would decrease with support from forensic science and DNA analysis technology while the hackers would still continue to commit crimes through various medium like internet loopholes, privacy temparing and accessing personal information. As suggested, technology should be used in efficient way for positive cause and privacy can be given more priority than comfortability.