Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

It is clear that traveling by bicycle is more environmentally friendly than by other vehicles like cars or motorbikes. However, cycling is not favored by many people, the government should identify the reason behind this phenomenon and turn to some viable solutions to encourage people to cycle.

There are a number of reasons to blame for the unpopularity of bicycle riders. Chief of these is that bicycles seem to pale in comparison with high-speed transportation when it comes to far-distance traveling. In order to travel intercity from house to work, which is normally far-distant, people will prefer cars or motorbikes, while bicycles will be more time-consuming. Another contributor is the cost of a bicycle. Although cycling is a good way to maintain a balanced and healthy lifestyle, people are more fond of jogging as this form of exercise also helps them form a healthy habit, without costing them.

There are some potential solutions that could be taken for increasing cycling popularity. First, the government should equip free bicycle service near parks or large spaces. This approach will not only solve people’s concern about the price of a bicycle, but also make them more motivated to exercise as bicycles are put everywhere, which results in a declining obesity rate and a fundamental saving in medical treatment. Furthermore, in one hour exercising, riding a bicycle burns more calories than jogging, which provides a faster result in having a healthy fitness. Second, it is the people’s awareness that we should promote. It is imperative that campaigns should be mounted to raise people’s consciousness of dire-health repercussions attached to a sedentary lifestyle. People, once they are fully cognizant of these consequences, will be more cautious about their well-being. Therefore, people will be motivated to exercise with these free equipped bicycles everywhere.

In conclusion, the small number of bicycle riders is attributed to time-consuming and bicycle price. However, the solutions would lie in free bicycle service and campaigns.