Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road cause some problems. What are the problems? What are the solutions?

In many places around the world, bicycles and cars usually occupy the same road, which proves to be precarious in certain cases. This essay will elaborate on various problems emanating from this matter and discuss several solutions to minimize these ramifications.

The first and foremost issue arising from bikes and cars being on the same road is the interruption to traffic flow. This derives from the difference in the speed of bicycles and cars, which can disturb the normal flow of road transport when, for example, a vehicle intends to take a turn or when a high – speed vehicle has to go after a low – speed one. This situation is especially commonplace in countries that have no separate lanes for bikers like Vietnam. Many car drivers express their frustration when they suddenly encounter a too slow bicycle on the road. Another problem is that cyclists are exposed to grave risks of accidents. Just due to velocity discrepancies, should drivers not react fast enough, an accident will ensue. In this situation, cyclists are put in greater jeopardy because car drivers have better protective equipment inside like seat belts and air bags whereas cyclists have only helmets that can prevent only head injuries but not body wounds. Therefore, being on the same road can be a huge inconvenience and even a fatal menace to cyclists and car drivers.

Nevertheless, there exist a multitude of remedies for this issue. To begin with, the authorities should construct separate lanes for bikers on the road. Due to the aforementioned unavoidable risks, cyclists should still go on a different lane from cars to guarantee a smooth traffic flow and avert traffic congestion due to the divergence of speed between these two means of transport. In addition, it is the responsibility of law enforcement officers to adopt strict regulations pertaining to cycling laws, safety requirements for cyclists and dispute resolution in case of accidents between bikes and cars. When put into practice, these regulations mould both cyclists and car drivers into road users with appropriate driving behaviors as they are on the same road.

In conclusion, impeded traffic flow and greater accident possibilities are among the most conspicuous problems originating from cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road. Hence, the authorities should tackle this issue as soon as possible with, for instance, cycling lane systems and driving law enforcement with a view to safer traffic for both car and bicycle users.