Dating online is popular because of technology . What are the advantages and disadvantage of this trend?

In today’s world of technology, online dating has become a popular trend. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of this practice.

To begin with, there are several benefits of digital dating. Firstly, people can filter their choices. They can scan many individuals on the internet and choose the perfect partner for them. Secondly, two individuals residing in different parts of the world can date each other through various chatting and dating apps. They can share their mutual interests, goals, and hobbies without meeting physically. As individuals do not have to meet in real life to interact, they can save a lot of time and conserve a good amount of travel expenses.

On the other hand, there are also significant disadvantages to this phenomenon. Firstly, misrepresentation on dating sites is a major issue. Many individuals create fake profiles to scam or cheat someone. For example, a person might create a fake social media profile using photos freely available on the internet to deceive others. Secondly, partners can change their opinions about each other after meeting for the first time. People might dislike their companions, whom they liked online, after meeting in the real world. They can regret their choices and waste a lot of money spent to meet their online partners.

To sum up, although online dating can save people a lot of time and money, it can also lead to online scams and negatively impact someone’s mental health after being cheated. Therefore, I believe this trend should be approached with caution.