Describe a recent experience that makes you a strong candidate for this exchange program. Explain how it will help you on the exchange program.

From my point of view, one of the most important values of a Flex candidate is responsibility. Moreover, I confess that I consider myself born under a lucky star, because thanks to the freedom my family has given me, I have acquired a considerable amount of maturity during camps and independent trips.

I’ve been going to camps for years, as over time I’ve developed a responsibility intertwined with independence that even my mom marveled at, but the one that completely changed my perspective is last year’s camp. This camp was like a real challenge for me. For example, while I was skiing with a better group, the coach let us do an independent tour in the mountains to enjoy the success of our training. So, without hesitation, I put my earphones to the max and started skiing in the snowy scenery, in the absence of caring about what was going on around me. As a result, I got lost near some younger kids. We were all scared knowing we were in a no-signal area, whereas my protective spirit felt it was my responsibility to get us back safely. Despite being at a high altitude, I could not show my fear of heights to these children as I could have scared them even more, so I continued to find the right way to the meeting point, ignoring the thoughts that might scared me like a deer in headlights.

To sum up, this experience has taught me that I can turn my vulnerability into motherly feelings of protection and responsibility for the sake of others. For example these will help my with creating bonds with my exchange school classmates and taking care of future host-siblings. Therefore, I fully believe that my heart emphasizes what a powerful candidate I am.