Despite better access to education, many adults today still cannot read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged?

In today’s fast-paced world, more and more grown-ups are illiterate, that is, unable to read and write, despite improved access to education. While this illiteracy may incur several drawbacks, such as joblessness and family problems, there are a number of measures to be taken.

One implication of uneducated adults has to do with profession. If one cannot write or even use a computer, he or she is less likely to be employed because such individuals are useless not only in the workplace but also in the community. Unlike educated people who are open-minded and always help others, uneducated persons are irresponsible and unable to take care of themselves, let alone their family and others. Were I a company employer or manager that employs workers, I would never take on those people as they may take a toll on the development of the company. Uzbekistan serves as a classic case in point: there are many adults and mature people who were poorly educated during school or university age, and this affects their future job opportunities. Most of them with low levels of education often do blue-collar work or work as laborers to earn a living. To counter-act such problems, the government should establish institutions that are free of charge for poor or people without a breadwinner because a significant number of uneducated people are those people. Another effective solution is that the government improve the quality of education in countryside schools or engage villagers in institutions by rewarding or giving privileges.

Another equal result of illiteracy is family arguments. Provided a breadwinner has a low level of academic study or is not educated at all, she or he may face many difficulties in teaching their descendants or in maintaining a stable marriage. This is because when your child is given homework at school and he does not comprehend how to do it, as a result, he decides to ask for help from you or his mother. But both of you do not have any basic or academic knowledge, and you cannot help your boy. Consequently, not only does your boy feel disappointed in you, but your wife may feel angry because you do not have a diploma or awareness of the subject. To address this issue, online courses or special organizations should be founded by the government. In addition, by broadcasting educational lessons and shows, the government is able to provide an illiterate public with basic knowledge to some extent.

In conclusion, illiteracy is the direct result of the fact that unemployment and family problems are elusive to attain, as seen in Uzbekistan. Though thorny at a glance, establishing special institutions and online or offline lessons can help tackle the implications of such growing issues.