Despite better access to education, many adults today still cannot read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged?

Although having a direct access to educational sources, many grown-up individuals are still illiterate, being unable to write or read. While this might entail several negative outcomes including inability to do basic activities and getting occupied, the problem could be mitigated with the assistance of the government – namely by introducing educative projects and offering job opportunities.

Being incapable of basic abilities such as writing and reading in the adult age might impede of doing daily activities. With the inability to read and write at all, many adults cannot make use of reading materials like news articles, book, and magazines, which are considered as typical pastimes to entertain people, while writing restricts them to send messages and communicate on messengers. Consequently, leading to emotional distress and fatigue. Additionally, it is the unemployment that threatens their financial position. It comes as no surprise that every company strives to hire a qualified and educated individuals, who have successfully got graduated and received a university diploma. With such system of occupation, those with inability to accomplish basic activities would have no chance but to live for their relatives’ earnings. As a result, with such illiteracy they are compelled to make a meager living either by panhandling or living for their parents’ earnings. This indicates that lack of basic skills noticeably disadvantages people, not only emotionally but also financially.

However, with the proper measures to be undertaken by the government the issue of illiteracy could be effectively tackled. One of the most practical method is to organize educational campaigns and projects, seeking for those incapable to write and read. By hiring brigade of high-qualified and experienced mentors as well as professional and trained psychology therapists, it is highly probable to achieve desired result in a short period. Eventually, after the end of teaching-oriented program, the illiteracy-project participant should not be left neglected. By providing several well-paid jobs and long-term occupation, the government not just contributes to its economics but also enhances their financial stability. In this context, with an unignored and responsible approach by the government agents the problem could be unequivocally solved.

In conclusion, although being illiterate substantially exacerbates both emotional and financial condition, there are various ways of problem mitigation for the government – including introduction of educational campaigns and provision of job opportunities.