Despite better access to education, many adults today still can not read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them?

The notion of poorly educated adults regardless of more approachable education in this day and age has ignited major concerns about the overall development of society. This unwanted phenomenon hinders several demerits, both individually and collectively, which would be discussed in the following paragraph of this essay, as well as proposing solutions of which the government ought to come up with so as to demolish such downfalls.

Regarding the drawbacks of the noticeable disability in comprehending and remarking written contexts in a part of mature individuals, out of which there are two most significant. On the one hand, illiteracy would restrict a person’s growth in modern society. For instance, unlettered people cannot keep up with the world’s increasingly rapid pace since they could not understand news, policies, or cautions that are published on paper, which would result in an unsuitably old-fashioned lifestyle. Thus, they are unable to find secured occupations, nor could they put up with their intellectual counterparts. On the other hand, this trend could then lead to unrefined culture, higher crime rates, and pressure on the nation’s economy. Due to the fact that unemployed people could end up living under the poverty line, they would eventually change to sinful options to sustain themselves.

Therefore, the obligation to seek and legislate solutions for authorities has become crucial. The most attainable alternative was to make education mandatory, this could be done through reducing tuition fees as low as possible, or in some cases, completely free. To exemplify the aforementioned idea, the U.S. government had made all public schools, from kindergarten to high school, costless. This policy has enabled all American residents to send their children to school without having to worry about the charge of schooling.

In conclusion, the consequences of illiteracy are its restriction to an individual’s growth and their ability to endure modern life with little to no chance of earning rightful money, as well as its pressure on the nation’s economy, culture and security. A possible solution is to reduce the price of education to make it obligatory and ensure future generations’ education.