Despite the increased access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take?

Although educational access is increasing day by day, a significant number of people lack reading and writing skills. This issue can harm people and society. In this essay, I will explain the disadvantages of this problem and suggest possible/effective solutions to what the government should do.

One of the main disadvantages is that lack of literacy can make it harder for people to find stable jobs. Most of the jobs require reading and writing skills even for blue-collar jobs. In modern life, both blue- collar and white-collar jobs even need language proficiency skills such as English, Japanese, Chinese and so on. People with poor literacy skills can only get lower salaries than those with high-qualification. This can lead to a hindrance to a better living standards, higher incomes and social status.

Another problem is that those people often struggle to take part in social activities. They might not raise awareness for important information like health advice, road names, and public signs. This can make them depressed as there is a significant gap between them and the other side of our society. For example, they can not help their children with schoolwork when their kids have some difficulties in their studies.

To solve this issue,the government should take strong steps. First,the people with poor literacy skills should be provided with free adult education programs. These classes should be easily reached for everyone to attend at their convenience. Second, the government should make sure all children go to school and stay there until they acquire the necessary educational skills from a young age to adulthood.

In conclusion, there can still be a remarkable amount of illiterate people worldwide even though the government is taking serious actions by offering free education for adults and making sure that all children have access to primary education from a young age. I strongly believe that the problems and solutions mentioned above will be of great help in shaping an intellectual world.