Despite the increased access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take?

Regardless of the growth of education access, a considerable number of illiterate population. This essay will address the causes of this problem and propose some solutions to government officials to a certain extent.

First and foremost, the key rationale behind such illiteracy comes from a fixed system in developing countries, which is mainly due to financial problems. Many of the students whose families are going through a financial burden are prone to not having an adequate amount of time in school, this is because of the mindset of the adults that their children’s duties are to work to earn a living and to survive while attending lectures is often overlooked. Furthermore, this mindset heavily affects the next generation, leaving them with a sense of insecurity and a misperception that consuming academic knowledge is a waste of time and effort, resulting in a significant amount of illiteracy. Secondly, increasing education access doesn’t correspond to an increase in the amount of people who study seriously. In some cases, an overwhelming amount of information not only does not have a positive effect, it also gives out a negative outcome which unmotivates the learning. For instance, IELTS learners tend to collect every data and information, free or charged, yet the efficiency doesn’t match the enormous resources provided because the start of the learning journey seems vague and fuzzy.

Looking at these drawbacks, it is demanding for the authorities to have one or two long-term solutions. The activities are to provide education guides and spread them nationally to avoid misconceptions that are addressed above as well as fundraising to set encouragement for the students in need. These solutions are expected to help people carry the burden and also lead them to the right path. For example, in Vietnam, there are special activities like free schooling and rewards for excellent achievements, resulting in a decrease in the proportion of illiterate people.

In conclusion, the opposition to increasing access to education and a large percentage of illiteracy is caused by too much information and financial problems. However, with the right adjustments of the government policies and the guidelines that they provide, I believe that the situation can be easily resolved.