Despite the increased access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take?

Although modern society provides universal education for people of all ages, many individuals still struggle with reading and writing. This situation makes it difficult for them to fully enjoy their lives. However, this issue can be addressed by governments and authorities through various measures.

To begin with, the ability to read and write is regarded as a fundamental skill in today’s world, essential for helping individuals navigate challenges and access different aspects of their lives. As a result, a person who lacks these skills may find it challenging to secure employment or connect with others, including their family members.

For instance, an adult who is illiterate may be unable to use technological devices, which are now the most prevalent tools for socializing and working, as they would not be qualified for any high-paying jobs without understanding the meaning of different office tasks. Consequently, these individuals have to look for low-paying jobs as they do not require any experiences

However, the mentioned problem can be solved with some measurements by the government. Firstly, the government should take responsibility for raising awareness of the benefits of being able to read and write to citizens by introducing an advertisement or a campaign, which promotes people to equip themselves with these basic skills. Moreover, classes that teach reading and writing are openly accessible to all ages, especially for ethnic minority people. Furthermore, infrastructure also should be improved in a way that people can easily gain education. For instance, in Vietnam, ethnic children in rural areas lose their opportunities to acquire knowledge due to poor conditions, including locations and costs of living

In conclusion, illiteracy is a severe problem as individuals face several challenges, creating a huge impact in their lives. However, the government can solve this issue by introducing campaigns and advertisements with improving the infrastructure in rural areas for ethnic minority people.