Development in technology has brought various enviornmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Development in technology has brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that environmental problems are caused by the development of science and technology. Even though some people think that we ought to live in ordinary life to protect the environment, others believe that these problems can be tackled by the advancement of technologies. In this essay, both opinions will be explored, followed by my viewpoints.

To begin with, some people think that protection of the environment is directly attributed to use of technologies. For example, environmentally-friendly alternatives especially solar-powered cars and solar panels are producing to alleviate the situation. Using these eco-friendly cars and solar panels can help reduce greenhouse gas emissions by replacing fossil fuels with renewable source of energy. As an illustration, Iceland have been using this kind of technologies for a long time. As a result, almost 100% of Iceland’s electricity is renewable, making it one of the cleanest countries in the world.

Life with modern technologies, however, was not without its negative effects. First and foremost, the number of private cars is increasing day by day due to the improvement of technology. Although it brings some comforts for people, cars are producing exhaust fumes which can lead to the deterioration of the ecology. If we look at the facts, 40% of hazardous gas which is released into the air is emitted by cars. Moreover, factories can be the next factor of air pollution. Industrial pollutants released into the air in the industrial practices and smoke pouring out of tall factory chimneys in the production of cars. As a consequence, air pollution has devastating impact on environment polluting water, soil and poor air quality leading to increased species loss and poor crop yield. For instance, China faces to a dusty fog once a week owing to fumes and smog which is produced by factories.

To sum up, despite the development in technology can bring some effective ways in order to protect the environment, it leads to some pressing problems like deforestation, loss of species and degradation of ecosystem.