Development in technology has brought various enviornmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that technology innovation can tackle environmental damage, whereas others argue that simpler lifestyles will preserve environment. I agree with the latter.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some advocate that simple living will limit environmental issues. First of all, they say, technological advancements can cause many threats to habitats such as global warming, climate change and air pollutions due to the transport like car which release a lot of carbon dioxide. Moreover, some inventions use many electricity produced by using fossil fuels, hence it will result in high exhaust fume levels which damage significantly to environment. Instead, simple living is a reasonable way in environmental preservation by using bicycle or walking, it may reduce tons of Co2.

However, I side with those who advocate that advanced technology will tackle these problems. Developments in technology can contribute to the use of renewable resources in the production of power such as solar power, wind power and nuclear power which is sustainable and environmentally friendly. For example, thanks to modern technology, numerous countries in the world have constructed nuclear power plant to produce electricity instead of fossil fuels, hence it may limit the emission of carbon dioxide causing global warming. In additions, one of the inventions of human is plastic which can reuse and recycle, so if people can utilize sensibly, it can reduce the overuse of paper lead to reducing deforestation.

To sum up, while some people advocate protecting the environment by living with less technology, I would contend that advancements in technology and science can solve environmental problems.