Differences between countries are becoming less evident. Nowadays, people are watching the same films, fashion, brand, advertisements and TV channels. To what extent do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages?

Today, the prevalence of films, fashion, brands, advertisements and TV channels make people be accessed to more and less identical things leading to fade the cultural barriers among countries. While some view this as the positive trend, skeptics think that it brings about more disadvantages than advantages. I think the homogeneity is a double – edged sword so in this essay I will elaborate both sides of the statement before summarizing my opinion.

The fact that being approached to famous movies, fashion or brands is not only for entertainment or the chances for enhancing the tourism revenue, but also a hallmark of profound improvements in living standard. Obviously, the ubiquity of identical stores has overcame the geographical barriers, helping more people easily experience entertainment services and reducing the amount of toxic gas for environment. Approaching strange knowledges from films or fashions would make exploration desires leading to the growth of tourist industry. On top of that is the improvement, the differences about wealthy countries and developing countries is gradually be faded leading the price of products and merchanises of brands from thriving countries is affordable for more consumer.

However, critics of this trend cites two major drawbacks that are the negative impact on cultural and a threat to local businesses. Firstly, the appeal from oversea brands can allow the traditional value to be faded owing to the marketing for those products is more superior than that domestic. For example, many people in Vietnam only focus on the movies from famous film studio and ignore the movies relating to history or traditionality. As for local stores, the presence of competitors from abroad foreign countries is synonymous with cutthroat competition and in a lot of case those competitions push businesses into bankruptcy and in a larger scale, this result in the decline in the developed ability of country.

In conclusion, the benefits from accessing identical brands is obvious but it also raises some concerns about the preservation of traditional values and the developed ability of local businesses. For solving this problem, implementing policies for keeping balance as well as supporting dominant companies from government is necessary