Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. Do the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages?

Across the globe, loss of differences of each nations are noticeable recently, thereby it can be witnessed that individuals watch same movies, brands, channels on televisions. While some perceive it as a beneficial development, others express concern about its drawbacks. This essay explores both perspectives, and in my opinion, the demerits brought by this trend prevail over its merits.

On the one hand, there are several advantages behind this phenomenon, one of which is helping to promote the culture of nations. For example, many people around the world watch Vietnamese food reviewers on social platforms and they desire to travel to Vietnam to try local food. Therefore, the number of tourists in Vietnam has significantly increased. Secondly, this trend also helps countries to gain experience through the others’ issues. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic, news indicated that China had the highest number of infected rate. As a result, many nations were aware of this emergency and immediately enacted new regulations to prevent the spread of the virus.

On the other hand, I fiercely believe that the disadvantages of this trend surpass its advantages. To begin with, the more similar features are between countries, the more national cultural identity is lost. For instance, the widespread adoption of global fashion trends can homogenize cultural landscapes, erasing distinctive local customs. As a result, communities may struggle to preserve their unique heritage and face challenges in maintaining a sense of collective identity. Moreover, this phenomenon may turn local people into ignorant individuals about their local areas. For example, over-concentration of different countries’ news might lead to the lack of essential information about regional ones. Consequently, they may become less informed about crucial events and issues affecting their own communities.

In conclusion, while the current globalization trend helps nations to promote their culture and learn from other issues, I personally think that losing cultural identity and decreasing attention to local problems far outweigh its positive aspects.