Directors and managers of organisations are often older people. Some people say that it is better for younger people to be leaders. To what extent do you agree?

Many believe that not only can old people be leaders, but youngsters can also take a role as directors. Youngster leaders can innovate creative solutions and adaptability to a successful organization. So there, I hold an agreement on this concern.

Most directors of corporations are middle-aged; undoubtedly, they can bring a wealth of experience and stability to the company. Their extensive professional experience is being sharpened after years of facing challenges. These experiences help them to solve unexpected issues and to train their employees. For instance, Vinfast is the first car brand producing the electrical vehicles, Pham Nhat Vuong is their chairman who is middle-aged. He and his wife had faced many challenges and failures in their career path, therefore after standing up from failure and experiences helped them to develop and create Vingroup, Vinfast, and others. However, despite having plenty of experiences, old people still have old-fashioned eyesight which is not suitable for society.

On the other hand, some think that youngsters can be good leaders, I hold a similar perspective on this. The new generations can also drive innovation and flexibility in using technology. This is a significant advantage of their inherent comfort in devices, which is helpful for analysing information and this shortens the working time. Moreover, some are native in languages such as English, Chinese, or even Japanese, these are the most common languages that can communicate with international relationships. Young people are willing to challenge out-dated practices, which motivates their team to pursue a creative solution. If young people can take a role as a director, communicating with clients or innovating business with creative revamping strategy, the work can be done effectively. By contrast, if we just focus and rely on old people and safety, there will be no dynamic and innovation to an organization.

In conclusion, both young people and old people can be a good director with their mindset and experiences. I believe that each generation has their own advantages which can develop the company. Therefore, balanced leadership is necessary for an effective outcome.