Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of playing sports and participating in physical exercises.

Today, sports and physical exercises are still a worthy topic due to its huge impact on human life. While playing sports and participating in physical exercises have considerable benefits, they are also activities that can lead to some adverse effects on people’s lives.

On the one hand, people tend to play sports and physical exercises to gain benefits of those activities. In terms of, playing sports can help people to strengthen not only physical, but also mental health. Many studies have demonstrated that people can improve different group muscles accompanied with the stress reduction when playing different kinds of sports. For example, playing basketball may foster height growth and swimming can help improve the body to be more balanced. Moreover, when playing sports, individuals can separate themselves from the hectic life and immerse in time with friends and get rid of a sedentary lifestyle. Additionally, attending physical courses and gyms are proven to be potent in averting potential diseases such as stroke, musculoskeletal, and especially cardiovascular problems. Take yoga for instance, researches have shown that this kind of physical exercise is useful to prevent arthritis and reduce risk of respiratory problems.

On the other hand, athletics and doing exercise have also some disadvantages which can be even hazardous that people need to be careful. First, the most visible drawback of playing sports is the high risk of accidents. Obviously, many sports require players to operate with great intensity and frequency, thus can lead to many accidents that cause injury to the body. For example, a person who plays soccer may have to face bruises and broken legs due to falls or collisions with opponents. Second, some certain physical exercises can cost money and might be time-consuming. Nowadays, except for self-practice physical activities, most gyms offer paid services, so it can be a significant expenditure for a person if they want to practice monthly. One example is fitness center where exercisers need to practice frequently to have a toned body, however, this can cost people a significant expense along with long-term maintenance, or even to feeling depressed and tired.

In general, playing sports and joining physical exercises play a vital role in the daily life of each individual. People need to choose a sport or exercise that is applicable for themselves and be aware of its disadvantages to avoid unnecessary risks.