Some people think that employees should be allowed to work fewer hours per week, while others believe it would reduce productivity and economic growth. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Numerous individuals contend that workers should have more flexible working hours. Others, however, believe that this should not be the case. This essay will discuss both views before explaining why I think that the former view is more compelling.

On the one hand, when employees are provided with flexible working hours, their social well-being improves to a great extent. This is because working individuals get some time for social events and family functions. For instance, the social health of Google employees in India is far better than other companies’ employees because it provides a chance to work flexibly as per employees schedule.

On the other hand, to meet deadlines of pivotal projects, it is imperative to have some pre-fixed working hours. To explain, if every worker has the authority to decide his working hours, the risk of delayed project targets will skyrocket. For example, Amazon faced an economic downturn in the past when it allowed its workers to work according to their preferred time.

In my opinion, to ensure productivity, slight autonomy in terms of deciding suitable working hours should be there. To illustrate, if a person works as per his desire, the chances of creative and better outcomes increase greatly because human brains work efficiently in pressure-free scenarios. To cite an example, in Phone-Pay, people working from distant locations are producing better results than its regular workers.

In conclusion, some people say that labourers should get flexible working hours to uplift their social health, whereas others believe that there should be some fixed working hours to meet project deadlines. I firmly agree with the former view because it promotes productivity.