Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty as a form of punishment for heinous crimes.

In the present years , there are many punishments in the city for criminals. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty.

To begin with,the first advantage is deterrent.Death penalty is the strongest possible deterrent to criminals.If they knew the punishment for the crime would be death. People are naturally afraid of death,this fear is always present and widely protected.The second advantage is safer society.Heinous criminal activities such as rape, treason, murder, terrorism, and drug dealing can be drastically reduced when the death penalty is practiced.People around the world say that the death penalty in those countries significantly reduces the use of illegal and harmful drugs and all drug-related evils.

Next is the disadvantage of the death penalty.The first is uncivilized.The death penalty is a barbaric and inhumane act, not worthy of a civilized society.The second is overly extreme punishment.Another reason why the death penalty is not recommended is that certain crimes are committed impulsively. For example a person who kills someone because of impulsiveness or is in a strong emotional state and immediately regrets his actions. Although it deserves severe punishment, it is sometimes too harsh to give a death sentence to such a person for an act for which he never intended to be radical.

In a nutshell, although he death penalty has some disadvantages, I think it is the best way to control crime, reduce government costs, and prevent others from committing crimes.